Design

InDesign Automatically Saves Your Place

Recently I had to update an old layout in a different layout application. Because of deadlines, I had to fit this work in whenever I could during the workday. As other, more pressing work came in, I saved and closed this old document several times to work on these other assignments. As I reopened the old layout the second time to continue making changes, I realized there’s a little InDesign feature that I missed terribly. The layout opened on the first page in the document. I kept thinking, “Now what page was I working on?”

Unlike other layout applications, when you save an InDesign layout, it also saves your place in the document. So, if you Save your document while working “zoomed in” on a certain part of page 18, it opens on that page to the same exact view. It may seem like a little thing, but it’s countless little advantages like this that add up to create InDesign’s unequaled efficiency.

Tip provided by Jeff Witchel, Certified Adobe® Training Provider.

TagsDesign
Share:
[class^="wpforms-"]
[class^="wpforms-"]