11th Annual Webby Awards Launch Call for Entries

Building on its decade-long position as the preeminent awards for Websites, The Webby Awards today launched its 11th Annual Call for Entries with the debut of major new awards in interactive advertising and online film and video. Hailed as the “Oscars of the Internet” by The New York Times and “one of the most prestigious awards in the world” by the BBC, The Webby Awards is the leading international award honoring excellence on the Internet.

Joining forces with some of the biggest names in advertising and entertainment, including R/GA’s Bob Greenberg, Wieden+Kennedy’s John Jay, Harvey Weinstein, and Showtime’s Matt Blank, The Webby Awards unveiled 15 new categories recognizing outstanding achievement in interactive advertising and also announced the world’s first major awards honoring original film and video premiering on the Internet.

“The Web is now the dominant force reshaping pop culture and business and nowhere is that more evident than in the emergence of interactive advertising and the boom in film and video now premiering on the ‘Net” said David-Michel Davies, Executive Director of The Webby Awards. “Having set the standards for Websites, we are thrilled to now honor the innovators who are taking the medium in exciting new creative directions.”

The Webbys’ major expansion comes on the heels of its most successful awards season ever. Last year’s Webbys received a record 5,500 entries in 70+ categories from over 40 countries, and was capped by a star-studded June gala showcasing an inspired and influential group of Internet luminaries including Prince, MySpace founder Chris DeWolfe, Arianna Huffington, and author Thomas Friedman.

To enter your Website, interactive advertising, or online film & video in The 11th Annual Webby Awards’ more than 100 categories, visit The early entry deadline is October 27, 2006.

With Internet advertising breaking revenue records and redefining the media landscape, Davies said the timing was right for The Webby Awards to establish new categories recognizing the extraordinary range of innovation in the field.

R/GA’s Bob Greenberg is one of more than fifty advertising industry leaders who will serve on the judging panel for the new interactive advertising categories. Other members include: Jeff Benjamin, Creative Director, Crispin Porter + Bogusky; Matt Freeman, CEO Worldwide Tribal DDB; David Eastman, CEO,; and Annie Wong, Executive Creative Director, Ogilvy & Mather, Hong Kong.

The Webby Film & Video Awards will showcase eleven categories including Animation, Comedy, Drama and Reality. Davies said Weinstein and Blank will lead a judging panel of entertainment industry insiders and creative celebrities that includes The Firm’s Rich Frank, Sundance Channel’s Larry Aidem, and Jim Gianopulos, Chairman and CEO, Fox Entertainment. The awards, which are being spearheaded by former Variety publisher Gerry Byrne, will be presented at a star-studded ceremony and screening on the eve of The 11th Annual Webby Awards in June 2007.

The Webby Awards is presented by the International Academy of Digital Arts & Sciences, a global organization with over 550 members including musician David Bowie, Virgin Group founder Richard Branson, Internet inventor and Google Chief Internet Evangelist Vinton Cerf, “Simpsons” creator Matt Groening, Real Networks CEO Rob Glaser, and fashion designer Max Azria.

Nominees will be announced in April, and winners will be unveiled in June 2007.

About The Webby Awards:
Called the “Oscars of the Internet” by the New York Times, the Webby is the leading international award honoring excellence in Web design, creativity, usability and functionality. Established in 1996, the 10th Annual Webby Awards received over 5,500 entries from all 50 states and over 40 countries worldwide. The Webby Awards is presented by The International Academy of Digital Arts and Sciences. Sponsors and Partners of The Webby Awards include: AOL, The Creative Group; Verizon; Adweek; Fortune; Variety; Wired; IDG; iStockphoto; American Marketing Association; PricewaterhouseCoopers; 2advanced.Net; KobeMail and Museum of the Moving Image. For more information visit